TCF Québec

The Test de connaissance du français pour le Québec (TCF Québec) is a test of proficiency in general French specially designed to be consistent with the standards of the Ministère de l’Immigration, de la Diversité et de l’Inclusion (MIDI) du Québec. It is only intended for people wishing to settle in Québec (Certificat de Sélection du Québec).

The TCF Québec is composed of four optional modules:

  • Reading
  • Listening
  • Writing
  • Speaking

The TCF Québec is intended to young adults (16+) and adults. Academic degrees or preparation are not required to take the TCF Québec. All candidates receive an official certificate of results that places them on the six-level scale (from A1 to C2) established by the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFRL). It is possible to take the TCF Québec several times, provided there is a 30-day period between two test sessions.

For further information about the TCF Québec, please visit the CIEP (Centre International d’Études Pédagogiques) website.